Paris : The other character

Paris: a great setting for a fantastic story.

Paris is steeped in History but has not yet found itself a contemporary legend like other capitals which can offer an experience that partly involves the imagination.

One of the first things you may want to do on discovering New York City is to rename it Gotham. At the corner of each block, staring up at the skyscrapers, you expect to see Spiderman, Batman or any of a host of super-villains leaping out from the pages of a Marvel, DC or Darkhorse magazine.

Visitors to London can experience the same syndrome. From Baker Street to Whitechapel, the distinctions between work of fiction and historical fact, Sherlock Holmes and Jack the Ripper, blur in the imagination.

Tourists visiting Paris experience the same confusion, unable to separate fantasy from historical truth. You regularly hear tourists asking whether Quasimodo really was for real.

Like all cities, Paris has its legends, anchored in the memory of a distant past. Each stone, house, monument, street or wharf has countless stories to tell, each as riveting as the next.

The legend of Wadé takes its place in this rich heritage, bringing a more contemporary, cosmopolitan and fantastic touch, while rooting itself in a complex historical context. This backdrop, in turn, brings credibility to the fiction, enriching it with fact and detail. The fantastic element enchants the present, offering the simple pleasure of plunging the bright city of Paris into the thickest, darkest mysteries.

Wadé brings with him his terrible secret. So keep your eyes open, you may run into him one day.

Leave a Comment

Paris : l’autre personnage

Paris : Formidable décor pour une histoire fantastique.

Cette ville gorgée d’Histoire n’a pas encore trouvé sa légende contemporaine, à l’instar de certaines capitales dont une partie de l’expérience qu’elles peuvent offrir fait appel à l’imaginaire.

La première envie que l’on peut avoir en découvrant New York City est de la rebaptiser : Gotham. À chaque carrefour, les yeux accrochés aux façades des gratte-ciel, on se prépare à voir surgir Spiderman, Batman ou autant de super vilains sortis tout droit des univers Marvel, DC ou Dark Horse.

À Londres, le visiteur connaît le même syndrome. De Baker Street à Whitechapel, ses pensées ne savent plus identifier leur provenance :  mémoire ou culture, part d’imaginaire ou faits historiques, Sherlock Holmes ou Jack L’Éventreur.

Les touristes visitant Paris sont victimes des mêmes confusions ne sachant plus différencier la part de fantasme de la vérité historique : « Quasimodo a-t-il réellement existé ? » est une question très régulièrement posée par les visiteurs étrangers.

Chaque ville porte donc ses propres légendes. Paris a les siennes, ancrées dans la mémoire d’un passé lointain. Chaque pierre, maison, monument, rue ou quai, racontent de nombreuses histoires toutes aussi passionnantes les unes que les autres.

La légende de Wadé vient s’ajouter à ce riche héritage en y apportant une touche plus contemporaine, cosmopolite et fantastique, tout en prenant racine dans un contexte historique complexe. Cette mémoire mise à contribution crédibilise la fiction en y apportant précisions et détails. Le fantastique, lui, enchante le présent pour le simple plaisir de plonger notre Ville Lumière dans l’épaisseur de ses mystères les plus sombres.

Wadé arrive portant avec lui son terrible secret. Alors regardez bien, vous risquez peut-être de le croiser…

Commenter