The Kieper familly

Éric Kieper is 38. He is divorced from Defne Uberti Kieper with whom he had a daughter, Victoria. For several years he has been responsible for the Quais d’Ivry shopping centre on the southern edge of Paris. However, before that, he had another life about which he says little. As a former member of the special police force, the GIPN, he is bound to professional secrecy for reasons of national security. He was in charge of close protection of leading personalities and close combat training. At 36 he was suspended and ended up leaving his unit to start a new life. He says nothing about the reasons for this decision.

Defné Uberti Kieper: ex-wife of Éric and mother of Victoria. It is Defné who decided to leave Eric though she does not dare to admit that she still loves him. When Éric left the special police forces his optimistic personality deserted him and he became enclosed, melancholic and taciturn. She could not bear to see him this way and opted to leave him. This shock treatment did not work. Éric accepted the situation without putting up a fight. With no hope of change, she decided to live with her decision and stay separate while striving to avoid unbalancing their daughter.

Victoria Dant: age 6, daughter of Defné and Éric Kieper. Mischievous and uninhibited, she is also very precocious. She reads children’s books extensively, but prefers to listen on her MP3 player to books for grown-ups like the novels of Edgar Allan Poe. She is attracted to disturbing phenomena that little girls generally find scary.

Michaël Kieper, 33, the brother of Éric. Single, he teaches philosophy in a Paris high school. He does extra-curricular research into pre-Socratic Greek philosophers. He also has a special interest in the work of French philosopher Jean-Marie Guyau and, of course, Friedrich Nietzsche. His brother sees him as the family brain, the one who solved all the puzzles when they were children and who has an answer to everything. But will all this knowledge be enough to solve the mystery of Wadé.

Leave a Comment

La famille Kieper

Éric Kieper est âgé de 38 ans. Il est divorcé de Defné Uberti Kieper, avec laquelle il a eu une fille : Victoria. Il est depuis quelques années responsable de la sécurité du centre commercial Quais d’Ivry, aux portes sud de Paris. Mais il a eu, avant cette situation, une autre vie à laquelle il fait peu référence. En tant qu’ancien membre des forces spéciales de la Police, le GIPN, il est soumis au secret professionnel pour raison de sécurité nationale. Il était en charge de la protection rapprochée des personnalités et de la formation aux techniques de combats. À 36 ans, Éric fut mis à pied et finit par quitter son unité pour refaire sa vie. Il garde le silence sur les raisons de cette décision.

Defné Uberti Kieper : Ex-femme d’Éric et mère de Victoria. C’est Defné qui a décidé de rompre, mais elle n’ose pas s’avouer qu’elle est encore amoureuse de lui. Quand Éric quitta les forces spéciales de la Police, il s’enferma dans un mutisme total et son caractère optimiste et joyeux disparut pour laisser place à une personnalité fermée et mélancolique. Elle ne le supporta pas et décida de le quitter pour le faire réagir. Mais sans succès. Éric se résigna à cette situation sans se battre. Sans espoir de changement, elle décida d’assumer sa décision et de rester séparée tout en s’assurant du bien-être de leur fille.

Victoria Dant : 6 ans. Fille de Defné et Éric Kieper. Jeune fille espiègle et peu farouche, elle est très avancée pour son âge. Elle lit beaucoup de livres pour enfants mais préfère écouter sur son lecteur MP3 des livres audio pour grandes personnes, comme les romans d’Edgar Allan Poe. Elle est attirée par toutes les choses inquiétantes qui font d’habitude peur aux petites filles.

Michaël Kieper, 33 ans, est le frère d’Éric. Il est célibataire et professeur de philosophie dans un lycée parisien. Il mène en dehors de son travail de professeur des recherches sur des textes grecs de philosophes pré-socratiques. Il aime aussi particulièrement les travaux du philosophe français Jean-Marie Guyau et, bien entendu, Friedrich Nietzsche. Pour son frère, c’est l’érudit de la famille, celui qui résolvait toutes les énigmes quand ils étaient enfants et qui a toujours réponse à tout. Mais son savoir va-t-il suffire à résoudre le secret de Wadé ?

Commenter